Liberal Democrats make gains on Broadland District Council

At the local elections on 2 May, Liberal Democrat Stuart Beadle (pictured) was elected to Broadland District Council for the Reepham Ward with 386 votes, ahead of the incumbent, Graham Everett (Conservative), with 305 votes, the Green’s Sarah Morgan (155) and Labour’s Jonathan Rackham (55). The turnout was 53%. Mr Everett won the seat in 2015 with a majority of 84 votes over Mr Beadle.

In the Eynesford Ward, the Conservatives’ Greg Peck retained his seat with an increased majority, polling 374 votes ahead of Liberal Democrat Dota Williams (296) and Labour’s Jo Margaret (124). The turnout was 32.8%. Mr Peck won the seat in 2015 with a majority of 53 votes over his Liberal Democrat challenger James Joyce.
The Conservatives retained control of Broadland District Council although with a reduced majority, winning 33 of the council’s 47 seats, down from 43 four years ago. The Liberal Democrats increased their representation to 12 seats, up from four in 2015; Labour has two seats.

Related stories: